Turning Pulp into Fiction: The Rock Story

I drive around alot. Not because I want to be environmentally unfriendly, but because my current job requires it. As a result, or a byproduct, I get several hours per night to listen to either the radio or a book on tape. (Which I haven’t done as much recently. And yes, that’s so 1980’s…)

Recently, I began to put together a list of songs that will go into a fiction story based on Rock songs and Rock bands. (Rock being a very broad category since electronica, DJ whomever and classical sounds will be included.)

It might center around a lady name Gaga – who does not like her real name, now? (She likes Gaga ok, just not the Stefani Joanne Angelina Germanotta. I mean, why not S-JAG.)

Just don't call me Stefani Joanne Angelina Germanotta, OK?

Just don't call me Stefani Joanne Angelina Germanotta, OK?

Anyways, back to the pulp. Scripting out a story with nothing but song titles and Rock names seems a bit 8th graderish.  Something one does to their Trapper Keepers or the one-subject $1.29 70-page notebooks. (So 80’s again.)

But a montage of songs with a story line could work. And I’ll have to be at my surfing best to remember titles since no ordinary rock station tells you the title anymore. (And I do not have XM or a modern radio that tells you that sort of information. Did I get caught in a time warp? Did Marty McFly take me back in time?)

Rock legends are easy to include: Led Zeppelin, Jimi Hendrix, Simon & Garfunkel, ZZ TOP, etc. etc. etc.

The weird one-hit groups or songs from 2008, because I’m so late, will be the gold to make this one a platinum outing.

It is off the beaten path of this blog to talk about a creative project which has seen its better days. (I’ll include pictures to move such a story along.)

But with a recession, you try different ideas – written and creative – to stir the juices. This one will be one of many in my Trapper Keeper of “boy, what the hell was I thinking” about during mid-2009.

Such is life – KEEP IT ROCKIN’!!

BE a JUKEBOX HERO! 😉

Leave a Reply

